A gluten free diet is one which does not include foods containing gluten. Gluten is a protein which is found in wheat barley, rye, malts and triticale. Gluten is found in many foods and is usually used as a food additive. A gluten free diet is medically accepted as being the only treatment for celiac disease.
A gluten-free diet may also exclude oats however many medical practitioners are unconvinced whether oats are an allergen to celiac disease sufferers or if they are cross-contaminated in milling facilities by other allergens.
The term gluten free actually refers to there being absent a high enough level of gluten to cause harm, rather than the complete absence of gluten as the term suggests. At what level gluten becomes harmful for celiac disease sufferers is a controversial and confusing issue.
It is very important that gluten intolerant people eliminate all gluten from the diet as the symptoms resulting from this can be very dangerous and harmful indeed. Great care should be taken with even non gluten containing food as cross contamination is an issue. These days there are now much more options available to celiac disease sufferers in terms of gluten-free food products available in the marketplace. This however unfortunately does not stretch to dominoes pizza.
Dominoes pizza use wheat and flour for their bases-this cannot be consumed by patients on a gluten free diet as it contains gluten. They do not do a gluten free pizza and even if they did claim to it is not advisable as the risk of contamination with gluten is very high due to the high amounts of flour and wheat used there.
There are however gluten free pizza bases available in supermarkets and on special online stores so you can make your own pizza! Fast food giants like dominoes pizza are unlikely to cater for the needs of such a small part of their customer base as it will increase their costs by too much as they will have to order in special gluten free ingredients. This is not something that appeals to them as they are trying to make a big a profit as possible so they are unlikely to pursue the idea of serving gluten free pizza and this is the case for all fast food giants I would think. There are still a lot of food products out there however, more than ever before, which are specifically made for gluten free diets so this should be looked into.
- Gluten Free Gnocchi (food-allergydata.com)
- Gluten free foods (food-allergydata.com)
- Gluten Free Bread (food-allergydata.com)
- Kneadbe (food-allergydata.com)
- Wheat Free Recipes (food-allergydata.com)